About Us

History & Mission

Under authority of NJSA 26:3-85 et seq. the Hudson Regional Health Commission was established by joint resolution of the twelve municipalities of Hudson County. The Commission has conducted a local Air Pollution Control Program since 1971 pursuant to Section 105 of the Clean Air Act. Since 1986 it has served Hudson County as lead agency to carry out the mandate of the County Environmental Health Act (NJSA 26:3A2-21 et seq.) That statute requires the implementation of certified programs for the control of air, noise and water pollution; hazardous substances and solid waste management. In addition, the Commission is the lead agency for the administration of the “Right to Know Act”. In order to provide these services in accordance with performance standards promulgated and monitored by the NJDEP, the Commission comprises a staff of 21 professionally trained managers/investigatory personnel and an administrative support staff of three.

Mission Statement of Management

To foster an enriched work environment wherein each employee is considered a valued member of a team, afforded that degree of professional autonomy, mentoring, training, respect, responsibility, authority and administrative support necessary to excel in the performance of his or her duties.

Board of Commissioners

John Sarnas


East Newark

Vincent Rivelli

Vice President


Janet Castro


North Bergen

Christine Madalena


Cosmo A. Cirillo


Paul Bellan-Boyer

Jersey City

Maria Alvarez

West New York

Ana Mansilla

Union City

Nancy Tarantino


Annarelly McNair


Gary Jeffas


Michele O'Reilly


HRHC Staff

Carrie Nawrocki

Executive Director / Health Officer

Angela DeQuina

Deputy Director

Marisol Leguizamon

Chief Financial Officer


Carlos Rodriguez

Program Coordinator - Lead

Jomo Richards

Program Coordinator-Hazmat, Solid Waste

Joren Madsen

Environmental Specialist

Oscar Martinez

Environmental Specialist

Nick Rivelli

Program Coordinator-Air, Pesticide, Noise, RTK

Juan Nunez

Environmental Specialist

Rachna Misra

Environmental Specialist

Lourdemia Lafalaise

Environmental Specialist

Ryan Russo

Environmental Specialist

Public Health Preparedness

Christina Butieb-Bianco

PHENS / MRC Coordinator

Alyssa Araujo

COVID Coordinator

Alexander Pugliese

COVID Data Manager / Epidemiologist

Ariana Simon

COVID Social Support Coordinator

Gary Garetano

Public Health Advisor

Camila Ayala

COVID Generalist

Megan Dwyer

Vaccine Coordinator


Noelvys Alonso

Purchasing Administrative Assistant

Christa Di Benedetto

Human Resource Administrative Assistant

Leticia Martin

Accounting Administrative Assistant

Information Technology

Emiliano Caballero

IT Assistant

Mosquito Control

Gregory Williams

Superintendent of Mosquito Extermination

Michael Iverson

Mosquito Control Inspector

Peter Leguizamon

Mosquito Control Inspector

Gary Cardini

Field Operations Supervisor

Richard Corrente

Mosquito Control Inspector

Manar Soliman

Mosquito Control Inspector